MINUTES OF THE YCBA ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING, HELD BY WEBEX VIDEO CONFERENCING ON SATURDAY 12 JUNE 2021 COMMENCING AT 11.00 A.M.

PRESENT: 26 Association members, including from the Management Board: Nick Woolven (Chair), Phil Godfrey (Vice-Chair), Lesley Millet (Treasurer), Robin Jepson (Acting Secretary), David Guild, Pauline Stout, Stephen Cordingey and Ron Millet

APOLOGIES: had been received from Julia Staniforth, David Waxman and Graham Jepson.

1) Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on 22 July 2020

The minutes were agreed as a correct record and would be signed by the Chairman at the next available opportunity.

2) Matters Arising from the Minutes

There were no separate matters arising.

3) Chairman's Report

The Chairman was sad to report the recent death of YCBA President Philip Mason who had been chairman of the Association for 25 years from 1990-2015.

The Chairman presented his report on the activities of the YCBA in 2020-21.

4) Treasurer's report and presentation of 2020/21 accounts

Copies of the accounts prepared by Brown Butler (Leeds Chartered Accountants) for the year ended 31 March 2021 are available for inspection if required. The Treasurer presented her report with additional information about the accounts.

No questions were raised in connection with the accounts presented and the Chairman would sign these at the next available opportunity.

5) UMS (P2P), Club Affiliation and Direct Members Fees for 2021/2022

In accordance with the requirements of the constitution, approval was given of the annual club affiliation (no fee payable), direct membership (no fee payable). Agreement was given to the waiver of UMS payments for the period 1 July 2021 to 31 March 2022 with a continuation for 2022/23 subject to the 5p amount being reinstated with a minimum period of two months' notice should the Management Board deem this financially necessary

6) Approval of the appointment of Graham Jepson as President

The meeting unanimously approved a proposal to appoint Graham Jepson as President of YCBA in succession to Philip Mason. In accordance with the requirements of the constitution, the Management Board at its next meeting will be asked to make this appointment.

7) Items Submitted for Resolution by Members

The meeting considered a resolution from John Hayton supported by David Lewis as follows:

'Yorkshire Contract Bridge Association Management Board shall take steps to reduce the financial reserves of the Yorkshire Contract Bridge Association so that the bank balances, including deposit accounts and financial investments fall below £40,000 by 31 March 2024 and fall below £30,000 by 31 March 2027'

After discussion a vote was taken and the proposed resolution was defeated.

8) Questions Raised by Members

The Chair responded to a number of questions asked by members

9) Election of Officers and Management Board for 2021/22

The office holders of Chairman, Vice-Chairman, Treasurer and Assistant Secretary along with nominations for the Management Board were duly proposed and seconded as follows:

Chairman	Nick Woolven	Mlke Ferguson	Alan Hayward
Vice-Chairman	Phil Godfrey	Stuart Kay	Martin Bayne
Secretary			
Treasurer	Lesley Millet	Sue Friedman	Dani Hyman
Assistant Secretary	Robin Jepson	Alan Brosgill	Angela Buckley
Tournament Secretary			
Management Board	Stephen Cordngley	Alice Zao	David Longworth
Management Board	David Guild	Pauline Stout	Shiona Dawson
Management Board	Pauline Stout	lan Newsham	David Guild
Management Board	Glyn Foley	Andy McDonald	Simon Woolham

There were no nominations for the offices of Secretary and Tournament Secretary. The unfilled vacancies would be considered by the Board and co-option would be undertaken as appropriate.

10) Date and Time of next Annual General Meeting

The date and time of the next AGM was agreed as Saturday 11 June 2022 at the venue of the Yorkshire Congress at 11.am.

Signed:	 (Chairman)
Dated:	